Hello world!

Well here goes nothing… I have never been good at keeping a journal, but I’ve always tried the paper and pen kind. It seems that the only time I use a paper and pen these days is to sign credit card receipts! And since I never have a shortage of electronic devices I’m hopeful that I will find the time and desire to keep up with a blog.

I recently decided that I am ready to take on the challenge of an Ironman distance triathlon. An Ironman distance race consists of a 2.4-mile swim, 112-mile bike ride and a 26.2-mile run. And yes, these activities are all completed back to back to back and you have to finish all three in 17 hours. (I have had people ask if this is a three day event).

I finished my first half-Ironman race earlier this summer but didn’t feel as much of a sense of accomplishment as I thought I would or as other people think I should. There are a number of reasons for this and I’m sure I’ll get to all of that eventually, but I think a big part of it was the fact that I didn’t take the time to share the day to day accomplishments or challenges or to celebrate how far I’ve actually come in my training. My close friends knew that I was training (I had to tell them because of all the time I was spending swimming, biking and running) but I never really made my goals public. Up until I crossed the finish line, I wasn’t 100% sure I would make it there! I did all the training and everyone else knew I would finish, but I wasn’t confident enough in my abilities to be sure I would make it across that finish line. So instead of talking about it, relishing in my accomplishments, getting support through the challenging times and embracing the overall experience I quietly did my own thing. Even if no one else ever reads this blog, when I cross the finish line of my first Ironman, I want to be able to look back at my training and remember all the joys, success, accomplishments, challenges, trials, and tribulations and to celebrate it all!

About triingtochange

I swim, I bike, I run, I've participated in triathlons and I'm starting to get used to calling myself a triathlete. Triathlon training has made a lot of positive changes in my lifestyle, my friendships, my outlook on life and my frame of mind. I still have a long way to go, but that's why I'm TRI-ing to change! Join my on my journey to Ironman Arizona 2013!
This entry was posted in Ironman, Triathlon and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

