Have I Ever Ridden a Bike Before?

I will eventually write up a post about my half-Ironman race, but I wanted to make sure I also keep up on my current training. I finally got around to posting the stuff I had written about Race the Lake and the awesomeness of that race! That race was on Sunday, August 19. I was surprised that I didn’t feel too tired after the race. My recovery eating needs A LOT of work, but for the most part my body felt pretty good. I took a rest day on Monday (and had a lovely evening with my running ladies). Tuesday morning I got up and went for a 4-mile run with my friend Lynn. My legs felt a little stiff and she was a little sore from her bootcamp class the previous morning so we decided we were just going to get out there and see how it went. Once I got warmed up I felt pretty good. We started talking and the time just flew by. We did walk for about a minute every mile just so neither of us was pushing too much. This was supposed to be a recovery run for both of us. It was also one of those runs where I remember why I like running. I complain about running a lot, but when I’m out with friends, just out there talking and getting through the miles I really do enjoy it. We left at 6:00 AM and I could see my breath as we got out there. I love fall weather running!

By Tuesday afternoon/Wednesday morning I was feeling pretty good. I had done a pretty hard ride on Sunday and was really feeling no after effects at all. Well then I decided to get out on the bike… I met my friend Kyle in Verona to do part of the “Ironman Loop”. I have yet to have a really good ride on this course anyway but within the first few minutes I knew it was a mistake to even try it today. On the first hill it honestly felt like I had never ridden a bike before. My legs were screaming, my lady bits were sore and I just couldn’t get comfortable on the bike. I made it about 6 miles before I realized I really shouldn’t keep going. My Garmin was working again (why it decided to just not work for Race the Lake we’ll never know) but I’m afraid to plug it in and see how slowly I was really moving. Kyle’s plan was to ride ahead, then turn back and come check on me every once and a while. I figured if he did that the whole ride, his 1:45 ride would be closer to 3 hours! I turned around but told him to keep going with his planned ride.

At first I was frustrated with the ride because honestly I was hoping Race the Lake was some sort of magical turning point for me, that my bike and I were going to be friends for life now and that all of my rides would be perfect! Ugh… I was mistaken. I have never wanted a 12-mile ride to be over with so much. Without getting into too much detail, the creases of my legs that rub against my seat (near the lady bits) were so uncomfortable I would ridden the last six miles standing if my legs weren’t so tired. Oh – and my toes were numb by the time I hit 3 miles. It was just overall a miserable ride and coming from such an awesome ride a few days before I was disappointed. On my 6-mile struggle back to my car though I realized that some days were going to be like this. I pushed my body for 90-hard miles less than a week ago and I really only took one full recovery day. I can (and probably will) also devote an entire post to my nutrition during and after races and I know that I am not giving my body a fair chance to recover properly. I realized that I have to use the good days to balance out the bad. The good days remind me why I struggle through the bad days. And without bad days, we wouldn’t appreciate the good days.

I was in bed by 8:45 on Wednesday night and basically slept until it was time for me to start working at 9:00. My body apparently decided it needed to catch up on some rest! And I was definitely thankful that I work from home yesterday morning and could sleep right up until the time it was for me to start working.

About triingtochange

I swim, I bike, I run, I've participated in triathlons and I'm starting to get used to calling myself a triathlete. Triathlon training has made a lot of positive changes in my lifestyle, my friendships, my outlook on life and my frame of mind. I still have a long way to go, but that's why I'm TRI-ing to change! Join my on my journey to Ironman Arizona 2013!
This entry was posted in Biking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Have I Ever Ridden a Bike Before?

  1. Cindy says:

    You had me giggle at “lady bits”

Leave a Reply

