The Joys of Riding My Bike

I’ve gone back and forth this week with my bike rides. I had a really good ride on Sunday and a really tough ride on Wednesday. When my friend Cindy texted me on Thursday and asked if I wanted to go for a ride I was really hesitant to say yes. I had slept forever and was still feeling sluggish. My legs really didn’t want to do much and mentally I was still feeling a little indecisive about hopping right back on the bike. I also knew that I didn’t get up and do any sort of workout in the morning and I probably would have just sat at home all night too if I didn’t say yes to the bike ride.

We decided to just do an easy, flat ride. It wasn’t a perfectly comfortable ride but it was a nice, steady ride that allowed me to spend some time with a good friend, get some fresh air, and keep my legs moving. It wasn’t a training ride where I had to push myself or feel guilty about not going all out. It was just a ride to remind me that some days I can just get out there and “stop to smell the roses” and enjoy the scenery around me. So many of my rides seem to focus on going faster, pushing harder, getting up the next hill or reaching some sort of milestone. I’m glad Cindy and I got out there and just enjoyed a slow, gentle ride and good conversation. And who can argue with this view? (I’m looking forward to another ride out there in the fall when the leaves change color).

About triingtochange

I swim, I bike, I run, I've participated in triathlons and I'm starting to get used to calling myself a triathlete. Triathlon training has made a lot of positive changes in my lifestyle, my friendships, my outlook on life and my frame of mind. I still have a long way to go, but that's why I'm TRI-ing to change! Join my on my journey to Ironman Arizona 2013!
This entry was posted in Biking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Joys of Riding My Bike

  1. Cindy says:

    Ha ha ha. A nice easy ride for you is still a hard ride for me :). As I told Erik yesterday, I like riding with you and him, because I can do what I can and you will be able to stay up with me.

    • And I like doing some of my rides with you because it’s a nice reminder that not every ride has to be a super hard ride and some days it’s just nice to get out for the sake of riding and enjoy the scenery and the company 🙂

Leave a Reply

