Am I Lazy??

I decided to take the weekend off and have not done any physical activity this weekend. I keep arguing with myself and wondering if I’m making excuses to try and justify my decision to do nothing, or if I made the smart choice.

Yesterday, instead of setting my alarm and squeezing in a bike ride or run before my busy day, I got up and went to watch my friend’s daughter race in her first triathlon. She’s 8 and did the IronKids race. It was so much fun to watch these kids out there and enjoying the sport of triathlon. It also really made me want to get in the water and race with them. I was happy to have that feeling because it validates for me the enjoyment that I do get from the sport. There are a lot of reasons why I get up and do the workouts, but watching the kids out there yesterday was just another reminder that this is a fun sport. When Hannah came out of the water she ran past all the spectators and gave them all high fives as she was running to transition. She was just out there enjoying herself!

Yesterday afternoon I went to a bridal shower for my friend Lacey and her bachelorette party that night. There was no time to workout in the afternoon and I wouldn’t have changed a thing about that either. First of all, it was really, really hot and sticky outside yesterday so I wouldn’t have wanted to be out there anyway. Secondly, training for races is only a part of who I am. Trying to find a balance between training, work, friends and just doing nothing is important. But today, Sunday, is the day I’m struggling with the notion of being lazy.

I was awake this morning by 6:30. I debated for a long time if I wanted to get up and meet some friends that were running or if I just wanted to have a day to do nothing. It has been ingrained in my mind for so long now that weekends are for long training days (or at least one long training day). It’s just assumed at this point that I will get up in the morning and go for a long bike ride or run. I followed a 6-month training program for my half-Ironman race in June. The plan was two workouts a day, 6 days a week. Since my race I have cut back on the intensity of some of that training and now not doing two workouts a day makes me feel guilty. Sitting around and not doing any workouts this weekend has made me feel really lazy. My friend Liz has told me that everything is relative though and I’m still doing as much, if not more, exercising than “normal” people do. I am just used to doing so much more but my body also needs some downtime if I hope to make it through the next year of Ironman training.

I’m trying not to be too hard on myself since I don’t remember the last time I did absolutely nothing but hang out all day. I’m either up and heading out the door to the gym or working all day (even if I’m still sitting at home in my PJs it’s still different than just being lazy). Yes, there were days during my training when I cut a workout short or I skipped one here or there, but that was because I was exhausted and knew my body needed the rest. Today, I’m feeling rested and there was no reason not to go out and run. But, I woke up, made some waffles and watched old episodes of CSI instead. It’s been raining out all day too, which did make the decision to not go out for a run just a little easier. Also, I start working with a coach next week and will be doing so at least through November of next year so who knows when I’ll get another chance to just do nothing. I know recovery and maintaining my sanity are important parts of training so I’m continually talking myself into just relaxing today. I think part of me is afraid the couch potato that’s still buried in me somewhere is trying to help me justify why I’m doing nothing this weekend and I’m hoping said couch potato isn’t going to try and make a comeback if I spend too many days not working out. Sometimes just taking it easy is the right decision though, and I think doing nothing today was the smart choice for me today… So I’ll at least shower, pull out my foam roller and then get back on the couch to watch some more CSI and enjoy a day of laziness 🙂

About triingtochange

I swim, I bike, I run, I've participated in triathlons and I'm starting to get used to calling myself a triathlete. Triathlon training has made a lot of positive changes in my lifestyle, my friendships, my outlook on life and my frame of mind. I still have a long way to go, but that's why I'm TRI-ing to change! Join my on my journey to Ironman Arizona 2013!
This entry was posted in Friendship, Ironman, Triathlon and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

