I’m Still Eating (some) Vegetables

After my post about vegetables a few days ago I was still pretty upset about what I first saw as a “failure” on my part. Since then, I’ve decided to go a little easier on myself though. While the idea of eating a salad every day for lunch quickly went out the window, I’m working on trying to incorporate a few veggies here and there. I had spinach and broccoli in my breakfast smoothie this morning and added some spinach to the chicken and pasta I had for lunch. It’s not five servings a day, but it’s a heck of a lot more than I usually get! Maybe someday I’ll attempt the salad again, but for now, I’m not going to beat myself up about it.

I also did not do any type of workout again today. I feel like I’ve been slacking a lot lately. Saturday and Sunday were “rest” or “recovery” days, Monday was only a 30 minute strength class at the gym, Tuesday was a short 3-mile run and today was another rest day. My run felt terrible yesterday. My legs were stiff, heavy and really tight. I felt like every step was a struggle. About an hour after I got home I started feeling really run down and could feel a sore throat starting. Thankfully, I work from home so I put on some comfy clothes, curled up in a blanket and sat at my desk trying not to get sick. I told myself yesterday afternoon that I would spend the evening resting and use the next day as a rest day to make sure I didn’t get sick. I’m also reminding myself that I do not have any upcoming races and if I were continuing to do two workouts a day my body would hate me by the time next November rolls around.

I woke up this morning and felt really guilty about my plan to not do anything all day. I wasn’t feeling too terribly sick and I was already awake, so I headed to the gym for the strength class. It’s only 30 minutes and I was going to take it slow. I decided getting up and moving my body a little would be good for me. Apparently the universe had other ideas though, because the instructor was a no show for the class. I did some much needed stretching for about 15 minutes while I waited to see if the class was on and then headed home and back into bed until it was time for work. My sore throat isn’t 100% gone yet, but I’m feeling okay. Hopefully it will be cleared up by tomorrow. My good friend Katie is due to have her baby any day now and I can’t wait to meet her! I need to be healthy by the time baby gets here 🙂

I have been reminded of two important things about myself these past few days. First, I beat myself up a lot when I don’t workout (or have a hard workout). I understand the need for rest days during the training season. When I was doing two workouts a day every day I looked forward to my rest day. When I’m only working out for 30-45 minutes a day (like “normal” people as my friend Liz reminds me) I feel like I shouldn’t be taking rest days. On the flip side, after my adrenal fatigue days (which I’m sure I’ll talk more about later), I’m usually the first person to say I need a rest day or need to cut a workout short. Sometimes I’m afraid I’m making excuses though and not pushing myself as hard as I could. It’s a fine line… And as much as I’m looking forward to curling up on the couch, reading a book and willing this sore throat to go away tonight, I will also be feeling guilty for not getting in a workout. There’s also a fine line between me recognizing the need for rest and my fear that I will never want to start working out again. One day, turns into two and before I know it, a week of no exercise has passed…

I also realized, though, that I’m becoming more aware of my body and how it’s feeling. I knew my run on Tuesday felt terrible and not in the “I don’t want to be out here running” kind of terrible. I was out with my friend Lynn, we were talking and keeping a pretty steady pace, but I really felt like my whole body was having a tough day. And to top it all off it was the one morning that I didn’t wake up on my own and needed the alarm to wake me up! I was that sound asleep. My plan was to run the extra 1/2-mile back to my house after we finished but I walked instead. I think I am starting to get to the point where I can tell when I’m having a lazy, “I don’t want to workout” day and should work through it and when my body just needs to rest (either from being overworked or if it’s fighting off something).

Zeus is meeting me at the pool tomorrow morning to tape and evaluate my swim technique. Yikes! If nothing else, I hope I will be fully rested and ready to swim with perfect form tomorrow morning 🙂

About triingtochange

I swim, I bike, I run, I've participated in triathlons and I'm starting to get used to calling myself a triathlete. Triathlon training has made a lot of positive changes in my lifestyle, my friendships, my outlook on life and my frame of mind. I still have a long way to go, but that's why I'm TRI-ing to change! Join my on my journey to Ironman Arizona 2013!
This entry was posted in Diet/Nutrition, Triathlon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

