New Recipes To Try

I spent my Labor Day in the kitchen. I have a problem with Pinterest! I find so many yummy sounding recipes to try. When I decide to try a new recipe, I can never decide which one to make though, so I end up making about five or six at a time! (If I’m already going to be in the kitchen, why not just spend the whole day there) šŸ™‚ There’s just one of me and a whole lot of food over here right now… The good news is that I have leftovers for probably the rest of the week and three different dishes in the freezer.

I’ve been experimenting with freezer meals so that I can try and stockpile some go-to meals to have on hand as I get into my training next year. Even this year, when training for the half-Ironman, there were plenty of nights that I picked up food instead of eating at home. It was easier, especially after all the training, but not necessarily the healthiest way to eat. I imagine I will be even busier with training next summer so I’m using my off-season to try some new recipes and get into the habit of cooking and having food available. Admittedly, a lot of the recipes I try aren’t 100% healthy, but at least I have some control over the quality of ingredients and two of my recipes actually had vegetables in them this time! Progress!

Here’s what I made today…
(And since I haven’t actually eaten most of these yet I can’t tell you how they taste… But they all look really good. I’ll try and remember to post here or on Twitter (@triingtochage) as I try each one).

White Garlic Lasagna (I substituted chicken for the Italian Sausage and I even kept the spinach in the recipe)!

Cheesy Zucchini Rice – I did try this and you can’t even taste the zucchini – Yay for another way to sneak in some veggies!

Korean Beef – I had some of this for lunch with the rice and it was good. It would be an easy last minute meal to make any night of the week too.

Italian Chicken Casserole

Cheesy Enchilada Casserole

I am always on the lookout for easy meals, freezer meals and Crock Pot meals if you have any you’d like to share. Any other hints for eating meals that don’t come in a take-out container when you’re busy with training, family or when life just gets in the way?

About triingtochange

I swim, I bike, I run, I've participated in triathlons and I'm starting to get used to calling myself a triathlete. Triathlon training has made a lot of positive changes in my lifestyle, my friendships, my outlook on life and my frame of mind. I still have a long way to go, but that's why I'm TRI-ing to change! Join my on my journey to Ironman Arizona 2013!
This entry was posted in Diet/Nutrition and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

