Ironman Wisconsin 2012

I seem to be really busy lately. Work has been crazy, my friend Katie had her beautiful baby girl last week and my friend Lacey is getting married on Saturday. I spent last week recovering from a cold and this week I’m already trying to figure out when I’m going to get workouts done. (Good thing I start getting a training plan next week so I’m “forced” to workout :-)) Despite this crazy schedule, I took the time to spend Sunday watching one of my favorite sporting events… Ironman!! It’s always a really long day but I look forward to it every year.

Swim Start

It’s probably safe to say I’m just slightly obsessed with Ironman! I love everything about watching an Ironman event and I love that Ironman Madison is basically in my backyard. First, let me congratulate Mark who finished his first Ironman this year (with an awesome time) and Kyle who finished his sixth. Also congratulations to Chris, Jeff and Matt, the other three first-timers coached by Zeus at E3 Coaching Madison. Mark’s wife, Jen also needs a little special recognition. Their son, Miles, was born four months ago, during Mark’s busiest training time, and Jen has been handling a bulk of the new parent responsibilities like a pro!

Ironman Mark, Jen and Miles

This year Laura and I drove around and watched with race with Jen, Zeus, Mark’s family and a lot of Team Sisu supporters. And the weather this year was almost perfect. Now that I have made the decision to sign up for Ironman AZ I watched this year’s race with a slightly different mindset. In just over a year I will be out there completing those distances. Every Ironman race that I’ve watched I’ve always thought that it was something that I hoped someday I would be able to do. This was the first year I watched the race and actually felt that I could do it. I know it will still take a lot of hard work and sacrifice, but I now know it’s an attainable goal for me. Next year I will be watching the race knowing that six weeks later I will be the one crossing the finish line and hearing Mike Reilly tell me that I am an Ironman! (And if it’s not Mike Reilly I’m asking for a refund) šŸ˜‰

 

About triingtochange

I swim, I bike, I run, I've participated in triathlons and I'm starting to get used to calling myself a triathlete. Triathlon training has made a lot of positive changes in my lifestyle, my friendships, my outlook on life and my frame of mind. I still have a long way to go, but that's why I'm TRI-ing to change! Join my on my journey to Ironman Arizona 2013!
This entry was posted in Friendship, Ironman, Team Sisu, Triathlon and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

