Starting My New Training Plan

I officially started my Zeus prescribed training plan today. I guess that technically means I’m now training for an Ironman. Eeks! It’s exciting though. I decided to wait and not mention Ironman training on Facebook until I actually sign up for the race, but starting today I’m following a training plan that’s designed to get me across the finish line of my first Ironman next November.

The first few months of the plan are going to focus on maintaining some endurance and working on strength and technique. Today’s workout was an easy 3-mile run. Let me tell you how thankful I was that Zeus even included the word easy in the description! I had an AMAZING weekend and starting my Monday with a run was going to be a challenge. I was lucky enough to be part of my good friend Lacey’s wedding. It was an awesome wedding event filled weekend. So many good friends were there and I have never had so much fun at a wedding.

Me (on the left) and my wonderful friend Katie who believe it or not just gave birth 10 days before this picture was taken.

 

The Wedding Party

Wearing awesome high heels and sleeping as few hours as I did this weekend makes a Monday morning run all the more interesting though. I decided I would do exactly what Zeus said in the plan – an easy run. I tried my hardest not to worry about my pace and just do what my body felt like doing. I did a lot of thinking and just enjoyed being out there instead. I thought about the fact that I’m actually training for an Ironman race (and even though it’s so far into the future that made me feel a little awesome) ๐Ÿ™‚

I like having a training plan to follow. I am definitely a planner. I like to know what workouts I’m doing, prepare for them and plan around them. I feel more organized and in control of my training and life in general when I don’t have to worry about training. I just do what my plan says ๐Ÿ™‚ Since my 70.3 race in June I’ve been “training” without a plan. I find when I don’t have a plan there are a lot more days when I don’t get in a workout. If I go to bed at night thinking that I’ll just see what I feel like doing the next day I usually just feel like watching TV or hanging out with friends. I still do these things when I have a training plan to follow, but I plan the workout into the day instead of waiting to see how the day unfolds. Had I not had a training plan to follow this morning I know I would not have gone out for a run. First, because running is the activity I really only do if it’s on a plan ๐Ÿ™‚ but second, I would have talked myself into deciding I needed more rest after this weekend. I would have slept in and told myself I would try and get out later today. And just like things do, as the day is unfolding I’m realizing I would not have found any time to get in a run today if I didn’t plan for it this morning and just get up and get it done. It was a pretty slow run but I actually enjoyed being out there and I’m glad I got it done! I know there will be days when I will curse the training plan but at least on the first day of the plan I’m excited to have it!

About triingtochange

I swim, I bike, I run, I've participated in triathlons and I'm starting to get used to calling myself a triathlete. Triathlon training has made a lot of positive changes in my lifestyle, my friendships, my outlook on life and my frame of mind. I still have a long way to go, but that's why I'm TRI-ing to change! Join my on my journey to Ironman Arizona 2013!
This entry was posted in Friendship, Ironman, Triathlon and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

