Windy Wednesday

Have I mentioned lately how much I love having a training plan! 🙂 A new workout just shows up in my inbox every morning – like magic! Today’s workout was a moderately paced 15-mile bike ride to focus on technique. When I checked the weather this morning the forecast was winds up to 25-35 mph… Definitely not ideal biking weather. And when I left to go meet Cindy for the ride it was raining. But I had my plan and Cindy and I scheduled the ride the night before so we were going to get it done!

Luckily it stopped raining by the time we met for the ride, but boy was it windy! Although pictures don’t necessarily convey the strength of the wind these flags were definitely blowing a lot!

After stopping a few times during really strong gusts and unclipping once as I got blown across the road, Cindy and I decided it was safer to call it quits after 14.68 miles. Close enough for me today.

The whole time I was out there I was thinking about how much I love having a training plan though. (And I know that’s going to come back and bite me in the a** one of these days when I really don’t want to do what the training plan says! Should we take bets on how long it’s going to be before I start saying I hate having a training plan) 😉 Today isn’t that day though. This is another one of those days when I probably would have found some excuse to bail on the ride – too windy, too rainy, too cold… But as Mark and Jen pointed out, it could be this windy on race day. (But I know it won’t be. I’m going to have ideal conditions for all of my races next season)!  I’m glad we toughed it out today and made it through the ride. It actually turned out to be a pretty nice ride (most of it anyway) and I always feel better after getting in my workout. Yay for training plans, friends that will endure such windy conditions with you and good bike rides!

About triingtochange

I swim, I bike, I run, I've participated in triathlons and I'm starting to get used to calling myself a triathlete. Triathlon training has made a lot of positive changes in my lifestyle, my friendships, my outlook on life and my frame of mind. I still have a long way to go, but that's why I'm TRI-ing to change! Join my on my journey to Ironman Arizona 2013!
This entry was posted in Biking, Friendship, Ironman, Triathlon and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

