Life Is Good

I am writing this with about four hours of tossing and turning sleep. I didn’t sleep much at all last night, but I got out of bed with a lot of positive thoughts in my head that I want to attempt to put into words. I’m hoping the lack of sleep still makes my thoughts coherent so please bear with me here…

Yesterday I had the pleasure of lunching with my friend Cindy and having dinner with my friends Katie and Lacey. During both meals I was struck with this feeling that life is good for me right now. For the first time in a long time, I feel like things in every area of my life are balanced and right where they are supposed to be. After training for a 70.3 race earlier this summer I know that as I reach the peak training months for Ironman there will be crazy days where I feel like I’m being pulled in way too many directions and that there aren’t enough hours in the day. While I’m still feeling sane and enjoying life I wanted to write about how I’m feeling now so that I can come back and read this on those stressful days. I know that there will be light at the end of the long training tunnel and it will be worth it in the long run.

I feel really lucky right now. I have a job that, while it’s far from perfect at the moment, has many positive aspects. I have awesome friends that are doing great things in their lives (having babies, getting married, following their family and career dreams, training for races, etc.) and supporting the things I’m doing in my life. I don’t get to see my family back in NY enough but I talk to them regularly and good things are happening for them too. My brother is recently engaged and my mom just signed up to walk her first official 5k. She will be able to finish the distance without a problem but she’s excited that she’ll get a bib number and be participating in a “race”. And I realized this morning that I’m putting into motion a dream many years in the making. I know that sounds kind of sappy but I’ve had a notion in the back of my mind since watching my first Ironman in 2009 that I wanted to be a participant and not a spectator. I’ve been slowly working toward this goal every year but this year everything fell into place and I was able to take the final steps to make the dream a reality in 2013. I am thankful for the things that are happening in my life right now. Life is about finding balance between work, friends, family, relationships, personal time, and extra curricular activities. For today I feel like I’ve found this balance and it feels good!

Cindy emailed me after our lunch yesterday and said she was happy to see me looking and sounding so content. I couldn’t think of a better word to describe how I’m feeling this morning. Things are falling into place… plans are in motion to help me reach a dream I’ve had for a number of years, I have the support of my friends and family and there is a happy balance to everything in my life today. On days I’m feeling stressed or that life is unmanageable I want to find this post and remember how I’m feeling right now; there are days when I do feel that things are happening just like they are supposed to.

About triingtochange

I swim, I bike, I run, I've participated in triathlons and I'm starting to get used to calling myself a triathlete. Triathlon training has made a lot of positive changes in my lifestyle, my friendships, my outlook on life and my frame of mind. I still have a long way to go, but that's why I'm TRI-ing to change! Join my on my journey to Ironman Arizona 2013!
This entry was posted in Friendship, Ironman, Life, Triathlon and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

