Finding Balance and a New Perspective

The past few weeks have been a whirlwind filled with some really good times and a few stressful times (mostly self imposed stress if I’m honest with myself). This morning a friend posted something on Facebook that made me take a step back and realize that life always has a way of working itself out. We were talking about working out and how much of a change we all see in our lives as a result of making decisions to become healthier and happier people. She noted that her priorities, habits, friends and the choices she makes on a daily basis have all changed for the better.

I couldn’t agree with her more. I have written a number of times already about how much my life has changed as a result of triathlon. I’m still amazed that I opted to spend the money I’ve been saving on a new bike instead of taking a trip back to France or on some other exotic trip. Saturday’s used to be for sleeping in and lounging around all morning. Now they are for long bike rides and runs. The friends I spend the most time with are those with which I swim, bike and run. Most Friday and Saturday nights aren’t spent staying up all night. They are spent getting ready for an early morning workout the next day. And even though I still don’t have the hang of it quite yet, food choices are no longer just about what tastes good. Now I should be eating based on what’s going to fuel me best for my next workout. And I don’t think I would change any of it.

Balancing friends, family, work, life and Ironman training is a delicate balance. If something is upsetting me I have a tendency to think about it A LOT. I work from home so that means there are very few distractions and it’s even easier for these thoughts to take up space in my head. When this happens I notice my workouts suffering; when Amy’s not happy, her workouts aren’t happy. Everything hurts just a little bit more and I feel like I’m putting in 10x the effort. And when I’m really happy I have awesome workouts and feel like I could swim, bike or run forever! I was reminded yet again this morning how important it is to keep everything in life balanced and to try and gain a little perspective on every situation.

In the grand scheme of things I have an awesome life. I have terrific friends, a supportive family, a job, a place that I decorated all on my own and love living in, and dreams and goals that I’m working to meet. If and when upsetting or difficult things happen over the next year as I’m training for Ironman, I have to remember not to let these negative thoughts become my primary focus. I want to enjoy my training over the next year and my workouts are so much more enjoyable when I’m positive 🙂

I know Ironman training is going to take up a lot of my time and energy over the next year. I’m already planning on that and am so grateful I have friends that understand this and are willing to do some of the training with me. But I also need to remember that when I feel that one area of my life starts dominating the rest, whether it’s for good or bad reasons, it’s going to be important for me to take a step back and give as much attention to the rest of my life. I’m happiest and most successful (and have the best workouts) when I feel like everything is balanced.

About triingtochange

I swim, I bike, I run, I've participated in triathlons and I'm starting to get used to calling myself a triathlete. Triathlon training has made a lot of positive changes in my lifestyle, my friendships, my outlook on life and my frame of mind. I still have a long way to go, but that's why I'm TRI-ing to change! Join my on my journey to Ironman Arizona 2013!
This entry was posted in Ironman, Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finding Balance and a New Perspective

  1. Carrie says:

    Before getting into the sport, I had no idea how time-consuming triathloning would become, but I love it! I can’t imagine my life without swimming, biking, and running now. Since I’m moving to a new city, I’m excited to expand my social circle and meet new triathletes; like you wrote, Amy, only triathletes understand the draw in early morning Saturday and Sunday rides and runs. 😉

Leave a Reply

