Thinking Positively

I don’t know about you but I find that in a lot of situations I’m quick to notice the negative aspects of what’s going on in life. Take today for example – I was working by 7:00 this morning trying to fix problems what felt like a million problems. I felt like I was juggling about 20 different projects and every email I got was about another problem that needed my immediate attention. I didn’t want to go for the bike ride that was on my training plan today; I got a flat tire on said ride; I have another commitment that I should go to tonight but I’m working hard to talk myself into going and to top it all off the sun hasn’t been out in two days! So that’s my mini rant for the day.

But that’s only one way to look at the day… I’m choosing to look at the day like this instead – I’m thankful I have a job. Yes, I was at work at 7:00 but I work from home and walked into my office at 6:55 (still in my pajamas). I was so busy at work that I didn’t have time to think about the things in my personal life that I spend too much time thinking about if given the time. (I do find it ironic that just a few weeks ago I was talking to a friend about how I have too much time on my hands to sit around and think… Well played universe – I guess I should learn not to complain about that because now I see how busy I can get). My job offers me a flexible enough schedule so I can get out and get my workouts done even when it’s pouring rain all morning and gets dark so early. I have a training plan to follow that makes me get outside and get on the bike, which is a lot healthier than sitting on the couch (like I really wanted to do) and I got the flat tire slow leak at mile 14.48 of a 15 mile bike ride. It could have been a lot worse. I could have been a lot further from home and since I wasn’t too far away it meant I didn’t have to sit on the wet ground to fix the tire. I just walked home 🙂

So although I had to ride in weather like this…

And the ride was cut short by this tiny little pebble…

I’m taking a different approach to the day and choosing to look at a really stressful day a lot more positively.

About triingtochange

I swim, I bike, I run, I've participated in triathlons and I'm starting to get used to calling myself a triathlete. Triathlon training has made a lot of positive changes in my lifestyle, my friendships, my outlook on life and my frame of mind. I still have a long way to go, but that's why I'm TRI-ing to change! Join my on my journey to Ironman Arizona 2013!
This entry was posted in Biking, Life, Triathlon and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thinking Positively

  1. Carrie says:

    Boo, flats are the worst. I’ve gotten one once (*knock on wood*), and I was with a very experienced rider, so she fixed it for me while relaying the process. Do you have a trainer? I’m in the process of getting one.

    • I do have a trainer, but I avoid it (and the treadmill) at all costs. I just don’t have the patience to not go anywhere 🙂 My coach is starting indoor cycling classes in a few weeks so I’m hoping to stay outside until then. At least with the classes I’ll be going no where with a group!

      • Carrie says:

        Ugh, I hate the treadmill. I’ve never used a trainer before, and like you wrote, it seems quite similar to a treadmill, but I’m still excited to try it. And going nowhere with a group is definitely better than going nowhere solo. 🙂

  2. Romney says:

    Thanks! I needed this! Tuesdays are really difficult in our house. After the kids are in bed and the backpacks are packed and the dishwasher is loaded, I usually end Tuesday night in frustrated tears. And, lately, Mondays are starting to look a lot like Tuesdays. But, reading this, made me step back. I had a great 5 mile run today and worked out with my new trainer. And, really, lots of other Nice things. I need to think about everything that went right before I crumble at what went wrong. Really hard to do! But, I’m going to try.

    • I know how you feel, Romney! I’ve been on the verge of tears at one time or another these past two days over work and life stress. I’m trying to take a step back and realize that in the grand scheme of things everything could be a lot worse. I can’t wait to hear about your new trainer!!

  3. lewispbadger says:

    Carrie, when you start your work on a trainer, try a Spinervals DVD or a fun movie to keep you moving. If you watch a movie, though, don’t get so lost in the movie you forget to get quality out of the ride. I watch sports movies when I’m not doing spinervals, because. I like that sort of things. But when the tempo in a movie changes, make yourself pedal harder, shift gears, or something to get variety. Makes things go faster. As for the treadmill, I find actively adjusting pace or incline regularly makes the time pass faster as well. Happy training!!

Leave a Reply

