Maybe I Can Be a Runner Afterall…

I probably should have written this post on Sunday but I spend so much time on my computer during the week that I try not to even open it on the weekends. So it’s a few days late, but better late than never…

Last Friday I spent an hour with Zeus reviewing my running form. He recorded my current running form and then we spent some time breaking it down piece by piece. There is a lot I have to work on! But the good news is I really don’t think it’s possible to get much slower than I already am so I can only improve from here. We focused mainly on my upper body for this session and after we spent some time talking about how my upper body affects the movement of my lower body I hopped back on the treadmill. Just changing the movement of my arms changed my cadence, leg placement and speed!!

I had a 6-mile run scheduled on Sunday and my plan had me doing each mile at about a minute to a minute and a half faster than my regular run pace. I will admit that I had a lot of doubts about being able to keep this pace. Let me just say that I rocked this run! My first (warm-up) mile was about 1:20 faster than my typical average pace. My second mile was almost 2:00 faster. I did do a little walking by the time I got to miles 4 and 5 but even with a little walking at the start of each mile my per mile pace was still at least a minute faster than my average. Thankfully Lynn ran the last 3.5 miles with me. I was tired by the end! We made it 5.5 miles and my average pace over that distance was a full minute faster than my regular average pace! I was so excited… And Zeus and I haven’t even talked about why my legs are doing yet. Maybe I can be a runner after all 🙂

After our awesome run on Sunday, Lynn and I had high hopes for our 5-mile run yesterday morning. Unfortunately, it was a lot harder than at least I was hoping it would be. We both had heavy legs and I couldn’t get mine to warm up. We ran at a much slower pace than our run on Sunday and we took short walk breaks at the end of each mile. (We got to the point where we were staring at our watches waiting for each mile to finish). I’m hoping that this run was tough just because we pushed ourselves pretty hard on Sunday and then I had some speed drills in the pool and Lynn had a tough boot camp class on Monday

I would like all of my runs to feel like Sunday’s did, but I should know by now that that’s not how it works. There are so many factors that affect training (and especially my running). Thankfully my only goal for this run was to get it done. I didn’t have to focus on speed or cadence; I just had to get in 5-miles and that’s all I did…

About triingtochange

I swim, I bike, I run, I've participated in triathlons and I'm starting to get used to calling myself a triathlete. Triathlon training has made a lot of positive changes in my lifestyle, my friendships, my outlook on life and my frame of mind. I still have a long way to go, but that's why I'm TRI-ing to change! Join my on my journey to Ironman Arizona 2013!
This entry was posted in Friendship, Running, Triathlon and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Maybe I Can Be a Runner Afterall…

  1. Carrie says:

    Making small tweaks and improvements in the pool, on the saddle, or on the pavement can result in a huge confidence boost. Glad to hear you’re enjoying running now, Amy! 🙂

  2. Romney says:

    You girls were flying on Sunday!

Leave a Reply

