My Body Needs to Move

This post is more than a few days overdue but I feel like I need a pause button on life to get caught up on everything that needs to be done!

I was out of town last week for a work conference. My boss was there with me and a number of our software users attended. I spent my days standing in our booth doing software demos and my nights doing dinners with my boss, users and friends in the area. I was functioning on little sleep, a lot of travel time in the car and more fast food then I really want to think about. I legitimately did not have time to get in my workouts. By the time I got home on Friday, I had gone four days without any workouts at all. My whole body was telling me it needed to get moving again. I was exhausted and didn’t have a lot of time but I packed up my gym bag and headed to the pool. I didn’t have a workout planned; I didn’t count laps; I didn’t worry about speed. I simply spent about 20 min in the pool getting my body moving again.

I’m not sure how I managed to live for so many years doing absolutely no exercising. I spent years sitting on the couch eating take out and fast food. My mind still tries to trick me into thinking that was a good way to live (and some days it is still what I need to do – but only for the day). After four days of living with my old habits I was ready to jump out of my skin. I needed to get moving and I needed to eat something that wasn’t made in a restaurant. Getting a taste of the “good old days” definitely gave me a chance to appreciate how important it is for me, physically, emotionally and mentally, to make the time to exercise and focus on what I’m eating.

About triingtochange

I swim, I bike, I run, I've participated in triathlons and I'm starting to get used to calling myself a triathlete. Triathlon training has made a lot of positive changes in my lifestyle, my friendships, my outlook on life and my frame of mind. I still have a long way to go, but that's why I'm TRI-ing to change! Join my on my journey to Ironman Arizona 2013!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Body Needs to Move

  1. Cindy says:

    You should see about renting a bike and biking some of that course while you are in AZ.

  2. Carrie says:

    It’s funny how that works–go a few days without exercising and eating as healthy as usual, and your body starts to *crave* movement and good-for-you foods. Glad you made it to the pool!

Leave a Reply

