I’m in Arizona

Well… I’m in Arizona. I’m here to volunteer for Ironman this year so I can register for the race next year. (Volunteers get to register before online registration opens and I wasn’t taking any chances that I wouldn’t get to register). I was feeling a bit emotional about the trip yesterday and found myself getting a bit teary thinking about what was coming.

Signing up for the race is kind of a big step for me. I still find it unbelievable that just a few years ago I never swam, biked or ran. I know it’s still a year away, but I’ll be signing up for something I’ve thought about and planned for for a long time. It’s also marks the start of a year of more swimming, biking and running than I’ve ever done. It’s going to take time, dedication and a lot of hard work to get me back out here (in racing condition) but I’m getting excited to take the next step and actually sign up for the race!

About triingtochange

I swim, I bike, I run, I've participated in triathlons and I'm starting to get used to calling myself a triathlete. Triathlon training has made a lot of positive changes in my lifestyle, my friendships, my outlook on life and my frame of mind. I still have a long way to go, but that's why I'm TRI-ing to change! Join my on my journey to Ironman Arizona 2013!
This entry was posted in Ironman, Life, Triathlon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m in Arizona

  1. Carrie says:

    Amy, I recently read “You Are an Ironman,” and a lot of volunteers secured their spots by volunteering the year before–great idea! Volunteering is such a rewarding and humbling experience. I found myself getting so emotional when I lent a hand during the Syracuse 70.3. As triathletes, we know how much dedication, training, and hard work it takes to complete a 70.3 or 140.6–how can we not become emotional watching people realize their dreams? You are so ready to sign up for and take on IMAZ!

Leave a Reply

