Stressing a Little Less

I have felt like I was really struggling during my workouts the past few weeks. My runs have been difficult, my legs have felt heavy on the bike and my arms have felt like they were swimming through mud. I’ve been frustrated during most of my workouts and really questioning my ability to cross the finish line next year. My off-season workouts shouldn’t be feeling this difficult and I have felt like I’ve been dragging myself around and sleeping way too much. Needless to say I haven’t been very pleasant to be around either 🙂

I had a 3-mile tempo run this morning. I decided to hit the treadmill instead of trying to figure out pacing with my Garmin. I wanted to work on form and I feel like I’ve been spending a lot of time speeding up and slowing down to try and hit my target pace. I didn’t want to have to think about that part of the workout this morning. I ended up only making it through 2.5-miles and left the gym very frustrated.

It finally dawned on me after I got home from the gym and calmed myself down that I haven’t taken my thyroid medication in probably almost three weeks. (I couldn’t even find them this morning). With everything that’s been going on lately I somehow got out of the habit of taking them first thing in the morning. Duh! How stupid of me! I looked up the symptoms of hypothyroid and sure enough… that’s exactly how I’ve been feeling lately. I guess those tiny little pills were really doing something for me 😉

Let’s hope this is a lesson learned. After my adrenal fatigue diagnosis from overexercising a few years ago I’ve been a lot more careful to listen to my body and rest when I feel like I need to take the extra time. But I’ve been a bit worried that I’ve felt like I need a lot of extra rest so early in my training plan (after all I’m really just maintaining a base and working on form right now). I’m feeling a little less stressed about this Ironman training and have breathed more than one sigh of relief now that I feel like there may be a valid explanation for why I’ve been feeling like crap the past few weeks. Here’s hoping that getting back into the habit of taking my thyroid meds will help with my energy levels and recovery from workouts and I can start feeling like myself (and someone training for Ironman) again.

About triingtochange

I swim, I bike, I run, I've participated in triathlons and I'm starting to get used to calling myself a triathlete. Triathlon training has made a lot of positive changes in my lifestyle, my friendships, my outlook on life and my frame of mind. I still have a long way to go, but that's why I'm TRI-ing to change! Join my on my journey to Ironman Arizona 2013!
This entry was posted in Diet/Nutrition, Ironman, Life, Triathlon and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

