Calorie Counting

And so it begins… A few fun-filled weeks of tracking everything I eat. Zeus and I have talked a few times about my diet (not the weight loss kind, just the what I’m eating on a daily basis kind of diet). It’s always been in the general, “I don’t think I’m getting enough protein” or, “maybe I’m not eating the right type of foods for recovery”. We discussed keeping track of what I’m eating before, but I’ve always been hesitant. Aside from being a bit of a pain to have to measure everything, the topic of food sometimes just stresses me out. But, I decided that we can’t work on fixing my diet if we don’t know what’s going on presently.

After my realization yesterday that I completely stopped taking my thyroid medication (for over three weeks it turns out) I decided it was time to start looking at my diet as well. Over the next year I’m going to be asking a lot of my body and I want to make sure I’m doing everything I can to support it. Remembering to actually take my thyroid medication is a big step in the right direction but there’s a lot more I can do. I plan to track my food for the next few weeks, and then probably on and off for the next year, to make sure I’m giving my body all the energy and nutrients it needs to make it through each of my workouts and for proper recovery.

I downloaded the myfitnesspal app for my phone and am also using their website. I started last night by adding in the recipes that I cooked over the weekend and guesstimating my serving sizes yesterday. (You can put in your recipes and myfitnesspal will calculate the nutritional information based on the number of servings you enter. I’m guessing on serving sizes too). This morning I didn’t remember to measure the ingredients in my smoothie until they were already on their way to being blended (oops) so I guessed on my breakfast again. Technically I’m only about 24 hours into calorie counting and I’m already discovering what Zeus and I both assumed… I’m not eating enough! How many times are we ever going to hear that?? With the amount and intensity of the workouts I’m doing Zeus gave me a target to hit for my daily caloric intake. I’ve got some work to do to add in some more healthy calories… It will be interesting to see if this trend continues and what other little tidbits of information we will learn.

About triingtochange

I swim, I bike, I run, I've participated in triathlons and I'm starting to get used to calling myself a triathlete. Triathlon training has made a lot of positive changes in my lifestyle, my friendships, my outlook on life and my frame of mind. I still have a long way to go, but that's why I'm TRI-ing to change! Join my on my journey to Ironman Arizona 2013!
This entry was posted in Diet/Nutrition, Ironman, Life, Triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Calorie Counting

  1. Carrie says:

    It’s good you’re taking initiative and tracking your eats. You’re absolutely right–Ironman training is no small feat, so you need to support your body and let it flourish. If you’re interested, I know a lot of triathletes who use/follow the Core Diet (http://www.thecorediet.com/) have been successful with fueling, nutrition, weight loss, etc. goals.

  2. Romney says:

    I’m eating my dinner … 10 points! … as I read this. I feel like I’m always counting Weight Watchers points and miles run!

Leave a Reply

